Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM)



In 2007, Norway and a group of like-minded countries, who were dissatisfied with the efforts in the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons (CCW) to address the unacceptable humanitarian harm caused by cluster munitions, convened an international meeting in Oslo that decided to conclude by 2008 an international instrument banning cluster munitions. The draft Treaty that was produced, by what became known as the "Oslo Process," was adopted at a conference in Dublin in May 2008. A signing ceremony was held in Oslo in December of the same year.


The Convention on Cluster Munitions (CCM) was adopted on 30 May 2008 and opened for signature on 3 December 2008. It entered into force on 1 August 2010.
Japan signed it on 3 December 2008 and ratified it on 14 July 2009.

States Parties

100 countries are states parties to the Convention and 8 signatories (April 2017)


In order to address effectively the humanitarian problems caused by cluster munitions, the CCM prohibits the use, development, production, acquisition, stockpiling, possession and transfer, as well as obligates the destruction of cluster munition stockpiles. Furthermore, it also establishes a framework for cooperation and assistance that ensures adequate provision of care and rehabilitation for victims.